top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

Two Lovers


This piece was inspired by Henri Matisse, I wanted to continue the approach of using Black and White media, However this time I knew I was not going to use unpredictable finish of the craft roll. This time around i wanted to create the same clean cut effect that we could see in Matisse work. In order for me to do this i ditched the craft roll and picked up a framed canvas. As soon as I picked up that smooth refined untouched canvas, i felt old urge kicking back telling me not to waste such good canvas. So I prevented myself from falling into the trap of spending hours on one piece by only allowing my self 30 minutes max to spend on this piece.


This work questions the activities going on behind the picture. Are the two figures making an act love, or are they dancing. Could there be something more obscene going on? is this an couple having intercourse or could it possibly be the man of the relationship taking control over his woman. The majority of the public will assume that this painting is of a couple having sex, due to the raised up leg and the hand that appear to be held up against the wall. These little details tend to be the make or breaking point of casting my art under Eroticism. Even though in this painting, there is to figures showing innocent of and admiration of love to each other starring into one another eyes.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page