top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

Story Board



When ideas start to fade, I try and use personal experiences to help influence the next set of ideas to create. My mono print blocks of paint remind me of story board layouts and this inspired me to try create a story from three separate views for each colour way box. For this painting I wanted to capture my thoughts of entering a new relationship, as a person I tend to keep most of my feeling and intimate thoughts bottled up and away from friends and family. However I started to think can this work really be pin backed to my thoughts and feelings if the viewer has no idea. The grey Block shows a young couple and if you look close enough you will be able to say the drawing continuing into both the white and black blocks. The black box we can see a second figure pulling away the female figure in the grey box. This painting represents the thought of getting hurt in this new relationship and deep down inside I wanted to ease off for this very reason. Creating these painterly stories boards is something I wish to continue, as I am always interested in hearing the connection of the viewer and how they will tell the story.


Ken and Lydia and Tyler [Ken, Lydia et Tyler] 1985

My creations was inspired after Viewing "Ken and Lydia and Tyler (1985)" The clear three colour tones of Black, Grey and White of the figures was the main inspiration and criteria to fit into my work. I also was intrigued how all three models where linked into this photo by physically touching one another. So this Lead me to think how I can get my figures to share the same connectivity and show it to my viewers.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page