top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

Large Scale, is it worth the hassle?

Updated: May 19, 2018


Lady - In Progress

I have recently finished creating a large scale work of the female body. This was my first time working on such large scale and for me it was rather a daunting experience. there was a list of problems that kept occurring throughout the making of my work. The first problem I encountered was spacial issues, my studio space was too small to hang up on the wall , so with the help of other studio artists we managed to clear a space so I could work on the floor. After over coming one problem i quickly stumbled onto another, as I finished for the day I would leave my work to dry overnight on the floor. When returning the next day I would find my work has been scrumped up and put to one side. I then tried leaving a note for the n ext day I left my work to dry. The following day I then discovered foot marks all over my work. This left me frustrated but I was determined to finish off my large scale painting. Once my painting was finish I found that there was no place to hang my work up so I can step back and view what i have created, so for now I will just have to move on with my project.


My overall conclusion is that even with all these altercations tried to prevent my from finishing my work, I will return to creating such large scale paintings only if the appropriate space is accommodated.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Assessment Post

“Sometimes art is not beautiful, and sometimes it’s challenging, and sometimes it’s even offensive, and yet it can still be art". - Denise Barrie A quote by the director Denis Barrie/ Curator of C.A.C

bottom of page