top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

Assessment Post

Updated: May 19, 2018

“Sometimes art is not beautiful, and sometimes it’s challenging, and sometimes it’s even offensive, and yet it can still be art". - Denise Barrie


A quote by the director Denis Barrie/ Curator of C.A.C (Contemporary Arts of Cincinnati)


This quote is relevant to my work as I know that there will be a large amount of public community who will hinder and be offended by

my work. A quote that I strongly resonate with throughout this project. How can someone justify or subside my work and not pass it of as art. As a developing artist I have went through the same passion, determination as many other artists has towards their projects


Throughout my project I have created caricature Figures that accentuate the private parts My project was funded on the idea of being able to take a naked painting and being able for the painting to represent its self as a nude and no other subsiding category like feminism, empowerment etc. However my Methodology has slightly change paths through this project and I now try to provoke the question of Eroticism displayed in my work. The context of my work is still heavily evolved around the opinion of the public viewer. I want my work to bring up debate and conversation on how they feel around seeing the nude in such new environments outside of the Life drawing surroundings. Many people are quickly to assume the sexual activities going on in my painting thus proving my point in the question that I raise about my work to be both true and controversial; I have thoroughly enjoyed the loop whole of the viewer instantly summing up my work as some sort of sexual desire in reality my works are of just normal situation we find ourselves in everyday, the only difference is that I chose to remove the clothes from my figures.


I have looked at a range of Artist whole have helped contribute to the debate of nudity in Art such as Sofia Stevi and Henri Matisse, however none have really compared to the major influence of Robert Mapplethorpe and His controversial work of his "X" portfolio which made me feel more relaxed about some of the explicit images I would be creating.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page