top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

For the Love of Craft Roll


I have continued to develop my ideas using the brown Paper originally meant for Parcel wrapping. The paper holds well with the thick layers of paint and the 7 metres of roll allows me to create large and small pieces several times with one roll, a great material for on a budget. The one true quality I love about using the craft roll its natural earthy tones distinguishes all colour's but particularly the tones of black and white. The brown paper also allows me the chance to create white backgrounds without it blending which it would do for canvas and white paper. I never use a ruler or scissors when cutting of a new section of paper as i have grown quite found of the unrefined look, to me it helps show character to the work.


I am also still using the same male and female models throughout my work, as i want each separate piece to connect with one another. This way of connection helps the viewer build an ongoing journey between two characters from start to finish with my project. The Linear Models always reminds me of the nude works of Henri Matisse.


BLUE NUDE III

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page