top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

Emotions of the body

My Simplified figures concentrate on the private parts of both genders and are accompanied by a distorted frame shape of the head. I have distorted the head along with facial features so I can disconnect the emotional attachments that come along with facial expression. The majority of figurative/Portraiture work can express emotions simply by looking at the facial features, as humans we can easily recognise the emotions upon the face due to personal experience. With My paintings being heavily based on the human figure, I only want the poses and body language to speak for themselves.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Creativity Takes Courage

"Creativity takes Courage"- Henri Matisse This is a quote that has resembled my work throughout this project. There has been several occasions that I have doubted this project and just felt that explo

Specific Steps

"And I don't have any specific steps to take because I don't start the same way every time. But there is a knowing when it's enough and you can leave it alone." - Bruce Nauman. Nearly every bit of wor

bottom of page