top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

Dominance



I have been continuing creating my works on Brown parcel roll. I also still chose to work with Black and white Medium as such contrasting colours really amplify the painting. A feature I particularly enjoyed about these pieces was the linear work continuing off the painted border. This to me helps show elongate the figures and helps to show each separate and define each layer of background, paint and the model. This method and style of painting is something i will most certainly continue to use in the future, as to me it is one of the more pleasing creations.


These pieces were inspired by the poses of the Models from Robert Mapplethorpe's "Y" Portfolio. Mapplethorpe's Models for the "Y" Portfolio are of strong, built African American men and the definition of muscles is one of the highlighting features in every model he captures for the portfolio. I chose to use similar style of Model and capturing the defined Muscle, to help promote the dominance of the male body.


Derrick Cross 1983






1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page