top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

Artist Research - Pablo Picasso


Les Demoiselles d'Avignon (1907)
Les Demoiselles d'Avignon (1907)

I have been particularly interested by the creations of Pablo Picasso, inspired by his African primitive genre. After looking through a variation of Picasso's work it was quick to see that we shared a common resemblance in the appearance of our figures. We both strive to achieve a simplified representation of the human figure. I chose to simply my figure so then I can draw attention to certain aspects such as the private gentile’s. Picasso was work was heavily known for being inspired by African culture, interpreting spiritual masks to portray the human face. A prime example of this is in his work “Les Demoiselles D'Avignon, 1907” if we look at the figures of the two woman in the far right of the painting, we are addressed with different facial construction to the other females. This mask like quality has inspired me to distort the figure of the head within my work. I intend to do this to disconnect the emotions we pick up from facial features. Instead I want to amplify these emotions through body language.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page