top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma-Louise Phillips

Henri Matisse


Nude Seated with legs crossed

Nude with bracelet

Siesta

After browsing through Pinterest to find inspiration for models to inspire my work, I stumbled upon a few mono-prints/painting's that resembled a similar look to my work. When following up my links to my surprise the artist was Henri Matisse. I continued to search through these same style art works and fell in love the simple but effective linear drawings to capture the nudity of the figure. I was surprised how late on in the project i discovered Matisse nudes, as i would love to respond to several of his work. I know Matisse would of also been a heavy influence through out my project, if only I had researched him earlier. However i will be continuing with this project for Third year so this still gives me plenty of chance to do some better responses and research into this certain style of Matisse.


Like my own work Matisse chose to ignore and conform to the standards of capturing models proportions to likeliness and scale. I chose to ignore this factor too, this is so that I don't fall back into my older days of spending hours on end trying to correctly draw the proportions. Since doing this, I have found myself becoming less stress and able to spend more time on creative thinking leading up to my paintings, instead of just copying a picture and spending hours trying to replica the image.


The fundamental factor that I love the most about these Matisse work is the contrasting black background with simple but elegant white linear paintings. This method of painting turns something so simple into a powerful imagery and I truly believe that less is more in these styles of painting.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page